After a controversial ending on the final play of the Elite Eight matchup between San Diego State and Creighton on Sunday, the NCAA has come forth with an explanation for the decision from the referees.
The Bluejays' last-second cross-court inbounds pass was tipped into the air and bounced out of bounds. While the ball appeared to travel out of play with some time left on the clock, officials determined that the game clock did not start when the ball was tipped. After confirming the correct time using an alternative replay system, it was concluded that the game was over.
According to ESPN's Pete Thamel, the NCAA offered an official explanation for the controversial ending, confirming that the game clock didn't start when the ball was touched.
"[Officials] determined the clock did not start when it was initially touched on the inbounds pass. The crew used the embedded clock within the DVSport replay system and it was ruled the clock hit zero before the ball touched out of bounds, thus ending the game," said the NCAA via Thamel.
The inbounds pass came on the heels of an already-contentious foul call which sent SDSU's Darrion Trammell to the free-throw line with 1.2 seconds left on the clock. He hit one of two shots from the line, giving the Aztecs a one-point lead and helping the program book its first-ever trip to the Final Four.
San Diego State will face No. 9 Florida Atlantic in the Final Four on April 1.