Getting Police Body-Cam Footage in Texas Could Soon Cost You

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

AUSTIN, TX — With all the police involved shootings that have happened in our country a lot of people are really thankful for the body cam. But starting on Thanksgiving those extra set of eyes will come at a price.

In Texas, individuals or organizations will now be required to pay a $10-dollar fee if they request a copy of body-cam video through law enforcement. The new rule also includes a $1 per minute charge for footage that hasn’t been previously released by cops.

Proposers say this will cover “reviewing and recording” fees. On the other hand, critics claim throwing money into the mix makes it even harder for people to obtain key footage needed in cases.

But, there may be a few loopholes in this law. If the police think the requested footage is in public interest, they can reduce the rate or not charge at all.

We’ve seen it before, several police body cam videos making the rounds on social media — more common in high-profile cases.

Don't Miss


Latest News

More News