NFL Honors: Murray, Romo Recognized; Haley, Brown Elected into HOF

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

nfl honors

GLENDALE, AZ — Okay, so the Boys aren’t suiting-up for Super Bowl XLIX, but that didn’t stop the NFL from showing them some love.

Yeah, Saturday was a big night for some Cowboys both past and present. The NFL Honors recognized DeMarco Murray and Tony Romo for their awesome abilities on the field this season.

Murray ran away with the Offensive Player of the Year award. The running back racked-up some impressive stats and even broke Cowboys history for most rushing yards in a season.

So, it only seemed fitting that Cowboys great, Emmitt Smith, was there to hand-off the award to Murray.

“Thank you to the Jones family for taking a chance on me four years ago out of Oklahoma,” Murray said during his acceptance speech. “Hopefully we can continue that,” he joked.

Yeah, Jerry – you might want to lock-down Murray’s contract faster than he breaks loose for a touchdown.

Not to be left out, quarterback Tony Romo, was on the receiving end of a winning play. He was honored with the Greatness on the Road award. Hey, he helped lead the Boys to an 8-0 record outside of AT&T Stadium — talk about a memorable roadtrip.

Speaking of memorable, they say good things come to those who wait – but now, the wait is finally over for former Cowboy Charles Haley. The most decorated defensive end, with a record five Super Bowl rings, was elected into the Hall of Fame after an 11-year wait. haley

Here’s what Haley told NewsFix earlier this month: “If the opportunity comes for me to be a part of that, then I’m very blessed and I’m very thankful.”

Joining Haley in the Class of 2015, is former Raider and local legend,  Tim Brown. The Dallas native went to Woodrow Wilson and is the first player from DISD to earn HOF status.

Congrats guys, way to rep Big D on Super Bowl Sunday.