HELP FOR HARVEY – CLICK HERE TO CARE WITH 33 AND DONATE TO THE RED CROSS

What you need to know about Texas’ ban on texting while driving that starts Friday

The no texting while driving ban officially kicks-in on Friday.

"You are no longer allowed to read a message, write a message or send a message while you're driving your motor vehicle," Lt. Pedro Barineu with the Garland Police Department said.

That's unless you're stopped at a red light or stop sign. That's the only time you'll be able to respond to someone, or look at Facebook.

You will, however, be able to use some of the features on your phone while behind the wheel.  It includes talking on the phone with a hands-free device. As well as a few other things.

"If you're utilizing your GPS, or playing music - that is not a violation," Barineu said.

The law was signed by Gov. Greg Abbott last month to help lessen the distractions on Texas roads and ultimately save lives.

"There's so many things going on and you can be in traffic, look down for a split second and all of the sudden get into an accident."

And for those planning to continue texting behind the wheel, "first time offender can receive a fine up to $99" Barineu said. "If you are previously convicted for this offense, you can receive a fine up to $200."

So Texan, we advice you to put down that phone so you can save your life, others' lives, and money.