Uber Creepy: Ride-Sharing App to Track You 5 Minutes After Ride

This is an archived article and the information in the article may be outdated. Please look at the time stamp on the story to see when it was last updated.

SAN FRANCISCO, CA - A recent update by Uber has people demanding the ride-sharing app tap its brakes.

Uber will now collect users` location data from the time they request the trip until five minutes after the trip is completed. It understandably has some people just a little creeped out.

Users can choose to opt out of the tracking feature but will then be unable to use any of the app`s location features, meaning you`d have to manually type in your pick-up location. Uber explains that it`s an effort to improve pickups, drop-offs and customer service and to enhance safety.

But if you don`t feel comfortable having the app track you after your ride is done then once you`re finished using it just close it down to prevent the app from running in the background.

Just know that if you don`t do that then for at least five minutes Uber is watching your every move.